Can someone else access my blink camera

Can someone else access my Blink camera? Would intruders be able to penetrate its security?

Would I be able to share the view/access with other authorized people in the house?  

These have been a few of the toughest questions people have before buying. I know because I asked them before, too.

Luckily, I was able to locate accurate and precise information about them before making the purchase.

Yes, you can allow other people to access your Blink camera because more than one person can sign in using the registered email address and password on file. Unless you share this information with strangers/intruders, you don’t have to worry about a security breach.

Can Blink Cameras Be Hacked?

can blink camera be hacked

Akin to any other type of security hardware (even software), yes, Blink cameras carry that certain vulnerability.

While they’ve been designed to withstand even the most complex of bugs, disarms, and network penetration, it’s not 100% foolproof.

Good news! Not once in my entire experience of using Blink ever made me feel that the security I had was easy to penetrate and take over.

In addition, no reports have been made about hacking Blink security cameras.

NOTE: Amazon sends constant updates on the firmware, improving the security feature of these cameras further. 

While it’s still vulnerable to hacking, it would be a hard time for hackers and for criminals to do so.

Can Blink Cameras Be Shared?

If you’re wondering whether the access to both indoor and outdoor Blink cameras is shareable, then yes, that’s possible.

Whether you’re using it on multiple devices, or if you want to give other authorized people in the house access, you can do it.

Understanding How You Can Allow Access to Your Blink Cameras

understanding how can allow access

Allowing others to have access to your Blink cameras will affect the experience of everyone who has access or control over it.

This would include:

  • Camera settings
  • Arming and disarming
  • Deleting of recordings and clips
  • Schedules
  • Live View
TIP: You can set it to receive notifications when an authorized person is trying to change up the plan. 

Do You Create Multiple Profiles Under One Account?

No, that’s not how it works. As per the company’s current state, there has been no innovation yet that would allow multiple profiles under one account.

The way to give other people access, though, would be by sharing the credentials (email and password) with different people for them to be able to have access.

NOTE: Most, if not all interactions would require verification from the main account holder, and it will be sent via a security PIN to complete. 

If you’re the account holder, the person trying to access would need your consent.

Can Someone Else Access My Blink Camera?

can someone access else my camera

Yes, you can allow another person and/or device to access your Blink camera or Blink Video Doorbell.

Now, there are usually two ways you can do this: by deleting the authorized users on the account, or by transferring ownership to another person.

NOTE: Both these methods mean that you are not interested in bringing your Blink camera to the new location you’re moving into.

Method #1: Deleting the Authorized User

This method is what I consider the simplest because you won’t need the information of the new owner.

The only action you’ll do is delete the authorized user on the account, and make sure that yours will indefinitely be removed and erased.

  1. Launch and access the Blink app on your device.
  2. From there, find System Settings. It’s usually the gear icon on the top corner of the screen.
  3. Then, pinpoint the particular system you want to delete – tap on delete.
  4. The system will reconfirm if you want to delete it, just select delete for the 2nd time.
  5. Wait for a few seconds and it will redirect you back to the homepage.

By now, you should not see any system associated with your Blink app.

The camera’s still there, but the new owner will need to set it up on the settings they want to with their email address and it will already be theirs.

Method #2: Transferring Ownership  

transfer an ownership

This method is the more comprehensive one because you will be transferring the ownership of the account to the new owner directly. 

It will be the official and surefire way to remove your access and allow another person to access your Blink camera.

Here’s how you can do that:

Step #1: Log Into the Blink App

To do that, launch the Blink app from your device and log into your account.

NOTE: You might need to enter the PIN code that’s prompted on the phone.  

Step #2: Navigate to Account

Once inside the Blink app, navigate and work toward Account Settings. This can usually be seen from the home screen as the gear icon.

You’ll know that you have entered the Account Settings menu when you see your account, email address, phone number, and other details referring to your account.

Step #3: Edit the Email Address

edit the email address

Once done, select edit email address. This will prompt you to a page where you need to input a new email address that would serve as the main holder of the account.

Step #4: Verify the Change

As the previous owner, the system will ensure this and send you a PIN for verification. Type in the PIN.

NOTE: The PIN usually gets sent within 10 to 30 seconds. Make sure that you have mobile reception.

Step #5: Confirm the Change

After verifying the PIN, the system will redirect you to the app and you would have to enter:

  • Country Code
  • Phone Number
  • PIN (a new PIN again)

Wait for the confirmation on both your and the new owner’s email.

When that’s done, then the new owner will now be the one to have access to the Blink camera!

FAQs

faqs about my blink camera

Do you still have questions about sharing different accesses to Blink cameras? In case you do, I’ve gathered three of the most-asked questions about it!

How Do I Add Another Phone to My Blink?

You can add another phone or tablet to your Blink device by downloading the Blink app on that device, and by logging in using the account holder’s username (email address) and password.

Can You Use Live View in Multiple Devices Simultaneously?

Unfortunately, no, you wouldn’t be able to access and view the projection of the Blink camera from two or more different devices at once.

When you’re using it and another person decides to use Live View, you’ll receive a notification that you need to confirm to give access.

Can You Have Blink Cameras at Two Different Houses?

Yes! In fact, the company claims that it’s possible to have up to ten different Blink devices connected to a single Sync Module (account).

This allows you to oversee all your Blink cameras without logging out and logging into a new account.

Someone else can access your Blink account, given that they know the credentials to be able to do so. Note that using it from different devices at once will cause dislodging or disconnecting from other shared profiles.

The Bottom Line

So, in case you were asking, can someone else access my Blink camera? The answer is a sweet and simple yes!

You simply need to share the credentials with that person or device, and they’ll be able to view what you’re seeing through the surveillance camera.

It works for both indoor and outdoor cameras!

Nicole B