If you don’t know what happens when you unlink a Roku device you will definitely want to read the entire guide to learn everything.
The Roku devices are a great way to access your favorite streaming platforms.
However, when giving the device to someone else the first thing you should do is unlink your account from the device.
The question is, what happens when you unlink your Roku device?
When you unlink a Roku device from your account, the device will no longer have access to any of the account channels, preferences, purchases, or settings. The device will not be used for content streaming until future account linking.
Now when we have a basic idea of what happens when you unlink a Roku account, let’s learn more about the link and what it includes.
The Roku account-to-device link is a connection between both instances that can be interacted with on the My Account page on the official Roku website.
Linking your account to a certain device would provide you with access to various online streaming platforms such as Netflix, Hulu, YouTube TV, and more…
Each device can be linked to only one Roku account at a time, but one Roku account can be linked to up to 20 different devices.
You would have to carry the initial setup for linking each device but once ready you’ll be enjoying your Roku content on all of them.
The contents on each device including purchases and channels will be the same since they are all linked to the same account.
When you’re about to upgrade, donate, or simply give your Roku device to somebody else you would definitely want to unlink all of your devices.
Next, we’re about to learn what happens when you do so.
Note: Unplugging the Roku device does not unlink your account and device.
To unlink a Roku device you’ll need to navigate the official Roku website and go to your Account page to find all linked devices and make changes.
If you’ve never done an unlink before, follow the steps below to make things right:
- Go to my.roku.com using a computer or smartphone.
- Log in to your Roku Account using the sign-in prompt.
- Press on the My Account page on to the top-right.
- Scroll down to locate My Linked Devices.
- Choose a device that you want to unlink.
- Select the Unlink button on the right and Confirm.
When unlinked, this Roku device will no longer be associated with your Roku account.
That means that when plugged, for instance, into a TV, it would require a new account link to operate.
When the device remains linked, the new user will have access to your Roku account and will be able to make purchases.
This is why it’s important to unlink the device that you’re giving away or simply when you’re no longer using them.
Tip: You can enable Guest Mode if you want to share your account with somebody else, where certain limitations will be there on their side.
When you unlink a Roku account there are quite a few things that will remain and a lot of things that will be lost.
Next, we will unwrap everything that will happen when you unlink your Roku device from your account to understand the situation better.
When unlinking a device your account and subscription will not be affected.
Everything would continue to work for your account as before, with one exception. Your account will no longer share its contents with the unlinked device.
Your account information such as PIN preference, payment method, or other linked Roku devices will not be affected when unlinking a device.
All other linked Roku devices will still appear on the My Account page.
The unlinked device will no longer connect to the Roku account containing all preferences, purchases, channels, and contents.
You won’t be able to use the device to watch streaming content until further account linking.
The device will not be used to manage your streaming preferences or anything related to your account.
Any configurations and account details will no longer be associated with the unlined Roku device.
Tip: You can unlink as many devices at a time as you want.
In case you’ve accidentally unlinked your device or you’re simply attempting to link a new Roku device, we got you covered.
The linking operation is a bit more complicated and you would need to have access to the following things:
- Active WiFi/internet connection
- Smartphone or computer
- The email address associated with your Roku account.
- Access to your email address
Once you’ve got everything necessary to link a Roku device, let's learn what is the fastest way to connect your Account and Roku device.
Here is how to re-link your Roku device to your account:
- Connect your Roku to the internet.
- When the prompt appears, enter your email address.
- Use a smartphone or computer to access your email inbox.
- Locate the recently sent email from Roku.
- Open the email and click on the verification link.
- On the Roku website log-in to your account.
It is important to complete ALL of the steps on the Roku website before going back to your Roku device.
When you see “Setup Complete!”, you would know that all steps are passed and that your device is now linked.
Now you will have your account preferences, purchases, and settings on the newly linked Roku Device.
Note: You will be able to see your linked device in My Account > Linked Devices.
When performing a factory reset, the Roku will cleanly reinstall its operating system, removing every app and setting. The device will become the same as when you first took it out of the box.
The factory reset would provide you with a fresh start and unlink your Roku device from your Roku device, without you having to do it manually from the website.
The factory reset will also remove any settings related to the networking/WiFi as well as ALL menu preferences.
Once the factory reset is complete, the Quick Guide included with your Roku should be undertaken once again.
That would include the initial setup, reconnecting to the internet, and linking the Roku account.
Note: The factory reset on Roku does not cancel your subscriptions or change any account preferences.
Upon unlinking your Roku device it will no longer connect to your account, preventing access to ALL account settings and contents. The device will require an account link to continue operating as before. You can unlink a device from the Roku website under the My Account Page.
Now when you know what happens when you unlink a Roku device from your account, feel free to manage your connected devices.
It’s essential to unlink your account from a device that you’re about to give away since everything on your account can be accessed.
We hope that this post was helpful and if you’re looking for more similar guides, feel free to check our online blog to discover the answers you’re looking for!
- Vicks Humidifier Not Steaming? – (Here’s How to Fix!) - October 20, 2023
- Kindle Paperwhite Not Waking Up? – (Try These Solutions) - October 20, 2023
- Why Is My Hisense TV Blinking Red Light? – (Instant Fix) - October 20, 2023